Living with ADD is a bizarre thing. I don’t have it severely or anything, but I have it enough that I do have to strategize around it, and do my best to not forget that it’s going to affect my thought processes. But really I don’t want to get into all of that here. I like to laugh about the ridiculous situations my silly brain will put me in because it just doesn’t quite connect right at times. Recently, I’ve equated it to having a bunch of storm troopers operating my brain. Shots get fired, but they often don’t hit the mark. I can know I’m about to connect with a thought, but will watch it pew pew into nothing. I’ve even come to think of it as my brain misfiring. Most of the time I can combat it by being hyper organized and recording everything on my calendar. I’m not at all exaggerating when I say that Google runs my life. I probably couldn’t cope without my calendar telling me what to do, when. Well, I could cope, but the lights would be off and my house would be foreclosed on because I’d forget that I didn’t pay the mortgage already.

And then there’s the other aspect of it. If my thoughts are fired by storm troopers, my focus bounces between that of Jar Jar Binks and that of a Sith Lord. If I’m not interested in what I’m doing, or if I really don’t want to do it I’m in the realm of “Mesa cause one, two-y little bitty accidentes, huh?”. There are times when it feels like nothing will keep me from being a bumbling idiot who can’t find her tea cup because she forgot that she already made tea and it’s waiting for her in the microwave. But once I do focus, I am so hyper focused there is little that can be done to pull me away. “Your feeble skills are no match for the power of the Dark Side.”

Anyway, apparently my brain is a bad Star Wars metaphor. Laugh it up, Fuzzball!

