Tags

, , , ,

I watched The Fall today. I was in an indie film kind of mood and having recently seen The Battle of the Five Armies, Lee Pace has been back on my radar. His Thranduil is brilliant and I’ve liked almost everything I’ve seen him in. I’ve read about him being proud of this one, so it seemed like a good way to spend the afternoon.

The Fall is set in the early 1920s I believe, and is about a stunt man who is in the hospital after a severe injury on set, and a five year old girl who is recovering from a badly broken arm she received from falling while picking oranges. He tells the young girl a fabulous fairy tale which very much parallels his struggle with the real world. I don’t want to spoiler this one too much, so I don’t want to get into any more plot details than that, but I will say that the fairy tale sequences are incredibly beautiful and very visually powerful. So much of this movie was powerful in so many ways. Every character in the movie is nuanced in some way, but subtly. You feel for all the characters, but what you feel for each is a little bit different. The movie pulls intense emotions from you at perfect moments and really makes you feel.

The performances are excellent and the dialogue between the stunt man and the girl was so natural that I’m still wondering if she had much of a script at all. It felt like they were just ad libbing the whole thing, or more accurately, just interacting as a young girl and an adult would. If that little girl really did have a script, she’s about the most amazing young actress I’ve ever seen. There was just a little girl who was playing and wanted to hear a story. It wasn’t contrived, it wasn’t forced. You hardly ever see children this well written. Really every character was natural from the stunt man to the little old man to the actor. The fairy tale scenes were quite the opposite, but they were intended to be. They were very contrived, very staged and they were meant to be. They were the story being told by the stunt man bit by bit.

Lee Pace’s performance was amazing. He never fails to wow me with pretty much everything that he does. He’s definitely a true talent; one of those actors that you just kind of have to sit back in awe of.

So yeah, this is one of the better movies I’ve seen. It is a tad eclectic, but that’s right up my alley. I highly recommend it. It’s incredibly moving. If you’ve seen it and want to talk about it, I think it’ll be okay to get into a more spoilerrific conversation in the comments section here about plot and more specific things. If you haven’t seen it, rent it, or pick it up on Google play or something. It’s worth it, and probably one of those movies that gets better if you see it more than once.

Image swiped from IMdB.com.

Image swiped from IMdB.com.

